Paddington – Movie Review

image

A friendly bear from deepest, darkest Peru. Paddington (the character and the film) is fantastic and is perfectly re-created, keeping the same nostalgia, but with an extra added touch of magic.
It’s difficult to imagine the furry bear as anything but a real, living thing. Watching the film, I did not once think, “That CGI is really good!”. Not until the end did I sit there and geek out a little at the fact that I had just watched the little bear that I had loved for so many years. I have always loved Paddington. I think my only main worry with this film, was that the created a villain. Now, it’s been many years since watching and reading Paddington, but I don’t remember there being a villain, or at least a bond style villain, at all. The creation of this evil character was quite clever, with a good back story, and good reasons for being who she is, but it’s just not Paddington. I know that it was produced by the same director as Harry Potter, David Heyman, but it just feels a bit unnecessary. I understand that the film needs to be bigger and better (in some ways) than older adaptations, especially to keep up with the other blockbusters and super hero movies that fill our cinemas now… but I just feel that they should have made the film a little less Hollywood in places and a littlr more relaxed, like the original Paddington was. The ingenious casting was perfect though, with Hugh Bonneville playing Mr Brown, Peter Capaldi playing Mr Curry fro m next door and best of all, Ben Whishaw as Paddington himself.
Please don’t get me wrong, the film is superb and thrilled me throughout, with the great voicing of Paddington and the comedy elements throughout, it was one of the best films that I had seen in a while and it really brought out the child in me.
Honestly, this is a must have movie, especially for the family, as it’s so lovingly adorable, it just makes you want to jump into the screen and hug Paddington. It makes you love him all the more and it whisks you straight back to childhood. I grew up on the stop-motion series of Paddington Bear and honestly wasn’t sure if this movie would live up to the expectations that a lot of people had, especially the older generation that grew up with it. I was ecstatically happyas I watched it and will definitely be buying it on DVD as soon as it comes out!

Leave a Reply

