The Hobbit – Movie Review

Image

This movie may have been out for a while now, but I have only just had the chance of seeing it.

Personally, I have never been a massive fan of The Lord Of The Rings. Yes, I am not going to deny that they have masterful CGI work in them and the director has gone to great lengths to create a fluent world within which the CGI work and live action can come together and look very seamless. This being said, I didn’t agree with how they portrayed the dragon. I understand that the air of surprise was meant to be there and the fear of not knowing what it was that was attacking them, but most of them blatantly knew what it was in the first place, along with the audience. This movie is probably one of the best movies for me to be able to review, due to me not having a “LOTR fan” opinion on it. If I was a fan, I may have given it a thumbs up right away at the first mention of Gandalf, however, I am not a long time fan and even though I adore most of the cinematography, I probably never will be one. Not a die hard one in any case.

Aside from the CGI, the film was put together well, with a great storyline and a great cast. When I first started watching the dwarfs coming into Bilbo Baggins home, I hadn’t even realised that one of them was Ken Stott, completely made up to look the part and another one of them was James Nesbitt. I guessed both of those from their voices. One of the other characters kept bugging me though, which was Thorin. I kept thinking that maybe it was Richard Armitage, but his face looked different. It was only until a few scenes had passed when I realised that they had put prosthetics on his face to discreetly change his features as to make him less recognisable. I agree with them for doing this, because that way you don’t just see the actors playing the roles, you actually see the characters for who they are meant to be. Halfway through the film, I had completely forgotten about the actors playing the parts and had become engrossed in watching how everything was put together. The scenes I particularly enjoyed was the ones with Gollum/Smeagle in them. I love the character. I have done ever since I first saw him. His funny sayings, his voice, the mannerisms and a lot of other aspects contribute to making him a loveable but slightly menacingly creepy at times.

Overall, the effects, the music, the mis-en-scene and the characters, along with the fantastic storylines and battles, came together to make an epic adventure that most viewers in the audience would want to embark upon.

If you haven’t seen this movie yet, I haven’t given any spoilers away, watch it. Just relax for one evening of your busy schedule and settle down into the shire for a little nightcap, until the unwelcome guests arrive and kick you away from the table, eat all your food and then entice you into going on their journey with them.

Have a safe journey, oh and if you see that Brown Wizard along the way, tell him that he played a smashing role in Doctor Who!

Also, I’m sure Sherlock fans will be hitting themselves for not knowing this, but the Necromancer in the film was played by none other than Benedict Cumberbatch!

So yes, we have Martin Freeman as Bilbo Baggins, and Benedict Cumberbatch as the Necromancer.

The next film, “The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug”, will be coming out as far as we know on 13th December 2013. You’ll be able to see Cumberbatch and Freeman again and most likely together within a scene, seeing as Cumberbatch will be the main evil character, Smaug/Necromancer.

Leave a Reply

